Administrative Setup

Administrative set up

The district is situated on the western part of the state of Bihar. It is bounded on the north by the district of Buxar of the state of Bihar and the district of Ghazipur of the state of Uttar Pradesh, on the south by the district of Garhwa of the state of Jharkhand, on the west by the districts of Chandauli and Mirjapur of  the state of Uttar Pradesh and on the east by the district of Rohtas of the state of Bihar. The district has two subdivisions viz. Mohania and Bhabua and eleven Community Development Blocks viz., Bhabua, Chand, Chainpur, Bhagwanpur, Rampur, Adhaura, Durgawati, Mohania, Kudra, Ramgarh and Nuaon. Bhabua (Nagar Parishad) is the only statutory town in the district. There are altogether
1695 villages in the district.

District Magistrate

District Magistrate is posted in the district who is the top most official of Revenue and civil administration. He often belongs to I.A.S. cadre. District Magistrate conducts development and welfare works in the district. ADM and other officers are posted in order to help D.M. In the administration. The district has been divided into two subdivisions namely Bhabua and Mohania which are headed by subdivisional officers either from I.A.S. or B.P.S.C. cadre. S.D.Os. are under direct authority of D.M. Subdivisions are divided in 11 development blocks where B.D.Os. are posted who undertake development and welfare projects. Kaimur district has 1695 villages in all out of which 1337 are inhabited where as 358 are uninhabited.

Superintendent of Police

The Superintendent of Police, Kaimur is the head of the district police administration. The Deputy Superintendent of Police are posted to assist the police superintendent who are either from the Indian Police Service or the Bihar Police Service. In each subdivision of the district, the Deputy Superintendent of Police are posted who keep control on police administration.

Judicial Administration:

Judicial Administration: The Judges and Munshif magistrates are posted at district and sub-division who administer and deliver justice of different kinds. The district judiciary is part of Indian judicial system as envisaged in Indian Constitution and independent of district administration. Police Administration: The district has 15 police stations and covers an area of about 340447 Hectares.